21 July 2002 Steady Pace Key to winning this years Peak to Peak

qtn peak CRAIG 220701
  • 25 July 2017
  • gjh
  • Torpedo7 PEAK TO PEAK

21 July 2002Steady Pace Key to winning this years Peak to Peak

21 July 2002
Steady Pace Key to winning this years Peak to Peak

A shared victory for yesterday’s Meadow Fresh Peak to Peak multisport race in
Queenstown, saw last years winner Hadyn Key cross the finish line in first place,
hand in hand, with fellow athlete Richard Usher.

The Queenstown duo had just arrived back in the country on Friday, after
competing together in the USA adventure race, Primal Quest, and only decided to
race at the last minute.

“ We thought we would see how we felt on Friday night as to whether we would
race and it was a standing joke when we were trying to get our bags through the
international airports that we had to get back in time for a race,” said Usher.
“Both of us felt pretty flat to be honest so it was a real grind on the paddle and the
run and then we managed to stay just close enough to Eric Billoud to pip him on
the mountain bike.”

The start line ski leg on the Remarkable ski field was altered due to lift closure with
the race starting from the top of the Alta chair on the Remarkable ski field and
finishing at the bottom of the Shadow chair.

The kayak leg on Lake Wakatipu was also shortened due to gusty winds.
Key and Usher set a good pace finishing in a time of 2 hours 9 minutes and 34
seconds. Queenstown's Eric Billoud was third placed individual man in a time of 2
hours 20 mins and 55 secs.

The Queenstown Physiotherapy Bio mechanical Analysis team were the first team
across the line winning the ‘open men's’ team award for the second year in a row.

The team consisted of Russell Tillsley, Tony Moore, Chris Dagg and Anthony Bush
and Brendon Quill. In second place was the Browns Avanti/Ra team from Dunedin
with Errol Kingi, Steve Dyet, Finn O’Conner, Eddie Smith and Geoff Keogh. Third
was the Copeland Team from Oturehua which included Todd Copeland, Paul
Gough, Martin Powley, Graham Sinnamon and Ray Dunstan.

In the veteran section Kevin Smith from Christchurch placed first, Geoff Miller also
from Christchurch was second and Cromwell's Bill Godsall was third.
Queenstown's Team Bonz were first Veteran team across the line with Jo Joes
team from Invercargill in second.

First place in the mixed team went to the Resort Radio police team from
Queenstown, second place went to Queenstown's Eakin/Morgan team and third
place to the AJ Gear team.

The Business House Trophy was picked up by AJ Hackett Bungy with second place
going to Team Wakatipu High school and third place to the The Heritage Hotel
(4th Flight Centre 1 team.)

In the women's categories, Queenstown's Rachel Barton was first across the line in
a time of 2 hours 48 minutes and 32 seconds followed by Lynne ODonaghue of
Christchurch in second place in a time of 2 hours 57 minutes and 24 seconds. Third
went to Bernice Lepper of Cromwell.

And placing first out of the women's teams was last years winners Team Wanaka
Physiotherapy, second place went to the GE girls from Christchurch,Cromwell and
Dunedin and third place went to the Alleged Angels from Christchurch.
The second and finale race in the nzski.com winter multisport series will be the
Peak to Pub race at Mt Hutt on the 6th of October with the overall winner of both
races winning an nzski.com seasons pass.